We’ve got bad news for Jersey dogs that love to hang out the window and feel the breeze flowing through its fur. Did you know that the state of New Jersey has a law that says you have to buckle up your pet or face a $1,000 fine? It’s been around for 16 years, but many drivers in the Garden State had no idea it existed.
This law is the first of its kind in the US that explicitly states that drivers must restrain a dog or cat at all times while in a moving vehicle. There are laws that bar animals from riding in the back of pickup trucks and keeping pets off the laps of drivers, but this is the first that makes it mandatory to buckle or restrain your cat or dog while a vehicle is on the move.
If you live in New Jersey, police troopers can ticket you during traffic stops or seat-belt campaigns. If they see that your pet isn’t safely restrained, you may face a fine that ranges from $250 up to $1,000 for each animal in a vehicle.
It makes sense – your beloved companion can become a flying projectile in the event of a crash or a sudden stop. And even though your pooch may whine about not being able to stick its head out the window, this law is made for both your pet’s safety and yours. You ensure that everyone else in the car is buckled up before heading out – isn’t your pet a member of the family that deserves to be protected as well? You can purchase adapters, special booster seats, harness and travel carriers at any pet store.
What do you think about this law? Do you think all states or provinces should adopt a similar policy? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.