Formula E Charging into Two U.S. Cities in 2014

Formula E Charging into Two U.S. Cities in 2014

The all-electric racing series, Formula E, is finalizing it’s inaugural 2014 season with 8 cities chosen to host races, including L.A. and Miami.

The full list of cities foreshadow a world tour of emissions free racing with races happening in London, Rome, Los Angeles, Miami, Beijing, Putrajaya, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro.

“We are thankful to all the cities that have expressed their willingness to host our races,” said CEO of Formula E Holdings, Alejandro Agag. “The fact that cities from all over the world are interested in the FIA Formula E Championship is extremely heartening and shows a global commitment to clean mobility and sustainability.”

SEE ALSO: FIA Formula E Championship to Compete on Streets of Rome

The series will also have two teams of ten to compete against one another, one team from Britain, the other from China.

The race cars are designed by Italian company Dallara, with first sketches already released. McLaren is designing and building the powertrain for the cars in a consortium with Spark Racing Technology.