2014 Kia Soul Awarded NHTSA Five-Star Safety Rating

2014 Kia Soul Awarded NHTSA Five-Star Safety Rating

The 2014 Kia Soul has earned a five-star safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

The Soul earned five stars in the frontal and side impact tests while getting four stars in the roll-over test. The 2014 Soul’s chassis features 35-percent ultrat high-strength steel and 31-percent high-strength steel. Inside, there are six standard air bags while the Soul comes equipped with a four-channel, four-sensor antilock brake system (ABS) with electronic brake force distribution (EBD).

SEE ALSO: 2014 Kia Soul Red Zone Special Edition Announced

“Soul’s 5-star safety rating speaks to Kia’s commitment to our customers. Our vehicles combine top-level safety with iconic design, world-class quality and, of course, the outstanding value for which our brand is well known,” said Michael Sprague, executive VP of marketing & communications at Kia Motors America. “We took a great deal of care with the design and engineering of the second-generation Soul, and NHTSA’s testing has validated that effort.”

GALLERY: Kia Soul Red Zone Special Edition


Discuss this story at our Kia Soul forum.