NHTSA Planning Changes to Five-Star Safety Rating System

NHTSA Planning Changes to Five-Star Safety Rating System

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration is changing up its five-star safety rating system.

The government agency will unveil changes to its New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) on Thursday with one of the announcements expected to be the inclusion on new vehicle stickers on whether those vehicles have automatic braking systems to avoid frontal collisions.

In a recent interview, NHTSA administrator Mark Rosekind said that Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx will also make two technology-rated announcements announcements tomorrow concerning “some data and some other announcements about the five-star system.”

SEE ALSO: IIHS Crash Test Ratings Explained

Rosekind also said that NHTSA hasn’t decided whether to move forward with new regulations that would mandate all new vehicles to have frontal collision systems and plans on emphasizing that everything is still on the table for discussion. In the past, NHTSA mulled over adding a “silver” rating to NCAP that would assess the safety of the vehicle for older occupants as well as a “family” rating for how well the vehicle protects rear-seat passengers, including children. NHTSA’s five-star assessment program has been in place since 1978.

[Source: Detroit News]

  • David DeVeau

    Automatic Braking Does Not Avoid Frontal Collisions At Speeds Over 25mph,,, The NHTSA Is Not In The Business To Rate Avoidance Technology,,, Their Primary Job Is To Rate Collision Occupant Protection In A Given Type Of Collision ONLY,,, Their Primary Objective Should Only Be To Promote Advancements In Collision Protection Technology,,, Not Driver Options…