Rhys Millen Sets New EV Record at Pikes Peak

Rhys Millen Sets New EV Record at Pikes Peak

Rhys Millen is sitting on top of the world after the 2015 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

Competing in this year’s event in a one-megawatt electric vehicle called the eO PP03 developed in Latvia, Millen claimed first place overall with a time of 9:07.222, setting a new record for electric vehicles.

The race car, which produces the equivalent of 1,367 hp, uses a 50-kWh lithium-ion battery pack to power six electric motors. Millen actually believes that there’s more in the car and was disappointed that he didn’t finish in the eight-minute range. It is being reported that while running near the end of the course, the eO PP03 lost power to its rear motors, but even those mechanical problems didn’t stop Millen from crossing the finish line quickest.

SEE ALSO: Acura NSX Ready to Tackle Pikes Peak

Second place went to another electric vehicle and Pikes Peak veteran, with Nobuhiro “Monster” Tajima powering his 1.1-megawatt (1,475 hp) Team APEV Rimac E-Runner Concept_One with a time of 9:32.401. Yes, Millen finished the race over 25 seconds quicker than Tajima. Third place went to Paul Dallenbach competing in the Open Wheel class with a time of 9:36.496.

Millen’s win also marks the first time in the race’s 93-year history that an EV has set an overall winning time over regular engine race cars, proving that it’s only a matter of time that EVs start dominating Pikes Peak since the high altitude doesn’t result in a performance loss.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

[Video Source: TFLCar]