Finalists For Motor Press Guild Vehicle Of The Year Award Announced

Amy Tokic
by Amy Tokic

This is the first year the Southern California-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is handing out its Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year (VOTY) Award, and the list of finalists has just been released.

Chosen by a panel of 18 MPG journalist members who routinely drive and review cars, the final five finalists will be evaluated and voted on by all MPG journalist members at the organization’s annual Track Day Event on October 11 and 12. Making the list are the 2012 Audi A7, the 2012 Chevrolet Sonic, the 2012 Fiat 500, the 2012 Ford Focus and the 2011 Hyundai Elantra.

To have qualified for the award, vehicles must be all-new or substantially changed for the 2011 calendar year. They must also be available at dealerships on or before January 1, 2012, and these vehicles should represent the unique Southern California marketplace. When reviewing vehicles, MPG journalists evaluate based on safety, quality, value, performance, handling, design, style, environmental impact and technology and innovation.

“We’re proud of the top five cars nominated by our MPG jury,” said Laura Burstein, Motor Press Guild President and VOTY panelist. “Not only are these finalists excellent vehicles overall, they represent a variety of segments and price points – and they show a little So-Cal flair, too. Any of these vehicles would be worthy of the VOTY award.”

The winner of the 2011 Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year will be announced during the Los Angeles International Auto Show Press Days on November 16 to 17, 2011.

Amy Tokic
Amy Tokic

More by Amy Tokic

Join the conversation