North American Car of the Year Finalists Include Focus, Elantra and Passat

Huw Evans
by Huw Evans
2012 Ford Focus. (06/08/2011)
2012 Ford Focus. (06/08/2011)

As the North American International Auto Show looms ever larger on the calendar, so does the annual North American Car and Truck of the Year awards, the winners of which will be announced on January 9th, before the show opens.

This year, finalists for the NACOTY award are the 2012 Ford Focus (shown), Hyundai Elantra and Volkswagen Passat, while finalists for the North American Truck of the Year award comprise the 2012 BMW X3, Honda CR-V and Range Rover Evoque.

The announcement of the finalists came following a December 15th meeting of the Automotive Press Association. The North American Car of the Year selection process is handled by a panel comprising 50 accredited automotive journalists from the US and Canada.

The 2011 car of the year winner was the Chevrolet Volt.

Join the conversation