TUDOR United SportsCar Team Lists Announced

TUDOR United SportsCar Team Lists Announced

The first-ever season of the new TUDOR United SportsCar Championship is less than two months away.

Shoe-horning teams and vehicles from both the Grand-Am and ALMS racing organizations into a new series isn’t an easy venture, but officials have released the entrant list for the four official classes today.

TUDOR-United-SportsCar-Championship-01.jpgThe big dogs of the amalgamated series will the prototypes, known as the “P” class. Currently, there are 17 race slated to participate in this class that  merges Grand-Am Daytona Prototype (DP) race cars with ALMS P2 racers. Also allowed into this class will be the wild DeltaWing prototype.

Prototype Team Entries include Action Express Racing, Wayne Taylor Racing, Marsh Racing, Michael Shank Racing, Spirit of Daytona Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. Extreme Speed Motorsports and SpeedSource each will field a pair of LMP2 cars, with one DeltaWing entry and another entry to be announced soon.

TUDOR-United-SportsCar-Championship-03.jpgOther part-time entries in the P class will include cars from Action Express Racing, Chip Ganassi Racing, GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing, OAK Racing, 8Star Motorsports, Starworks Motorsport and a Project Libra Radical.

Next up with the PC class which is a spec car racing series. Roughly a dozen contenders will enter this class using a spec ORECA FLM09. The PC entries include two cars each from BAR1 Motorsports, RSR Racing, Level 5 Motorsports and Starworks Motorsport. As well, other entries from CORE autosport, 8Star Motorsports, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports and Performance Tech Motorsports. Should any of these entries fail to make the grid, Pickett Racing has the first alternate in the PC class, followed by JDC/Miller MotorSports.

Since the GT cars from Grand-Am and ALMS differ quite a bit, it was decided a long time ago to keep both classes alive and call them the overly creative GT Le Mans (GTLM) and GT Daytona (GTD).

TUDOR-United-SportsCar-Championship-04.jpgThe GTLM category will be the smaller of the two and include 12 entries from eight different teams. Cars will include two BMWs from  Team RLL, two from Corvette Racing (the upcoming C7.R), two Ferraris from Risi Competizione, two factory-backed Porsche 911 GT3 RSRs, another privateer Porsche 911 GT3 RSR and a pair of SRT Viper GTS-Rs from SRT Motorsports. At some races, expect there to also be a part time Aston Martin racing around.

GTD will feature a larger field of 28 entries. The field includes a pair of Aston Martins from TRG-AMR North America while GMG Racing, Fall-Line Motorsports, Paul Miller Racing and Flying Lizard Motorsports (X2) will enter Audi R8 LMS racecars. Six Ferrari 458 Italia will also be entered with two coming from Scuderia Corsa, one from Level 5 Motorsports, two from Spirit of Race and one from SMP/ESM Racing.

TUDOR-United-SportsCar-Championship-05.jpgOf course there will be Porsche 911s. How about 12 of them? Teams fielding two GTD Porsches include Muehlner Motorsports America, Dempsey Racing and Park Place Motorsports. Single 911 teams consist of GB Autosport, Alex Job Racing, Team Seattle/Alex Job Racing, NGT Motorsport, Magnus Racing and Snow Racing. Turner Motorsport will field the lone BMW Z4 while Riley Motorsports will field a similarly lonely SRT Viper GT3-R.

The inaugural race for the new series takes place at the 52nd Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 25-26, 2014.