2016 World Car of The Year Finalists Announced

The short list for the 2016 World Car of the Year has been announced. 

Jaguar Land Rover has a strong showing this year, with six different nominations across all the different categories. The next closes is the VW group with five nominations. Mazda has the most nominations of any single brand with four.

In the overall car of the year category, the nominees are: Audi A4 Sedan/Avant, BMW X1, Hyundai Tucson, Jaguar XE, Land Rover Discovery Sport, Mazda CX-3, Mazda MX-5, Mercedes-Benz GLC, Skoda Superb and Toyota Prius.

SEE ALSO: Honda Civic Wins the 2016 Car of the Year Award

The winners are decided by a panel of over 50 automotive journalists from around the world. The winner in each category will be announced at the 2016 New York Auto Show in March.

In 2015, the Mercedes-Benz C-Class was named the World Car of the Year.

See below for the full list of nominees.

Luxury Car of the Year:

  • Audi Q7
  • BMW 7 Series
  • Jaguar XF
  • Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe
  • Volvo XC90 

Performance Car of the Year:

  • Audi R8 Coupe
  • Chevrolet Camaro
  • Honda Civic Type R
  • Mercedes-AMG C 63 Coupe
  • Range Rover Sport SVR

Green Car of the Year:

  • Chevrolet Volt
  • Toyota Prius (Hybrid)
  • Toyota Mirai (Hydrogen Fuel Cell)
  • Volkswagen Passat GTE
  • BMW 330e Plug-in-hybrid

Best Design of the Year:

  • Mazda CX-3
  • Mazda MX-5
  • Jaguar XE
  • Land Rover Discovery Sport
  • Cadillac CT6