2012 Toyota Camry Gets Five Star Safety Rating From NHTSA

Jason Siu
by Jason Siu
2012 toyota camry gets five star safety rating from nhtsa

The all-new 2012 Toyota Camry has received a five-star composite safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The redesigned 2012 Camry was able to achieve the five-star rating despite the NHTSA’s new, more rigorous testing procedure that’s targeted to raising the bar for overall vehicle safety.

Featuring a reinforced body structure that utilizes high-strength steel, the new Camry is able to withstand cabin deformity during certain severe collisions as well as absorb impact energies and as a result, help enhance occupant safety. Other features include 10 standard airbags, Toyota’s Star Safety System – which includes Vehicle Stability Control, Traction Control, Anti-Lock Braking System, Electronic Brake-Force Distribution, and Brake Assist – and Smart Stop brake-override technology. And as with all newer vehicles, the 2012 Camry will come equipped with tire pressure monitoring system as standard.

An optional feature available to the new Camry is Toyota’s Blind Spot Monitor, just another form of technology that Toyota is continuing to develop in order to help raise vehicle safety standards throughout their models.

Join the conversation